Storify: Critical Review

I have used stuff like WordPress and Drupal in the past to post content online with my best post tending to be the stuff that goes on a step by step approach like a story. I recently in last two months used Storify which had its ups and downs but overall I enjoyed my use of it. Storify is a blogging style site like WordPress you can sign up for free to post your own content. Storify feature a unique search mechanism that I haven’t seen in other such services but It has its flaws in terms of performance.

The purpose of Storify is to write content in the form of a story and display that content with various resources. With Storify you can type what you want much like you would using a word processor followed by using a search mechanic to display content such as image, tweets, gif etc. to parts of the story. In presenting information in a story like style you are not only trying to inform the individual reading your content you are also trying to change how they act in relation (Bruzzese, 2012). With Storify you are expected to provide a beginning, middle and end to have a change of events to keep the reader interested.

The thing that makes Storify different is the mechanism to search content and drag it into your story. If you are searching a topic Storify will display some tabs which will be under a category of info under your choosing. This could go for tweets which can be searched for based on what word you search for. I believe this is a good feature of Storify but it has some serious flaws based on my own experience of using it. The search does yes get very good stuff sent back to you but it can get a lot of useless items as it is something not said by an expert who can make a story more stronger and believable (Widrich, 2012). This is because certain search types only display content that is less than ten days old and I have my problems with this since it limits what I as a user can gather. However if I found the source link for something that was ten days old I could use that link to create information I can drag into my Storify, this does require I use search engines instead.

I could be missing in the search one of the best sources of information out their cause it was eleven days old. The main reason this system bugged me is because I deleted one of  items I searched and was unable to get it back as I found it a month earlier. However even though I find it problematic there are some good points to it like the content that can be found is likely different every day, since it is recent it is probably a good source of information since it’s up to date. The only other issues I have found with the Storify would relate to the interface however it still performed well.

I made a piece using Storify about robots and archaeology and how I went about it was that I wrote my stuff in a word processor. I used a word processor because when you write paragraphs in Storify you can either write it together or in separate blocks. The option of separate blocks is a better choice since information you find using the search mechanism can be put in between your paragraphs. However if you do it this way it could be a bit frustration depending on how much you are writing and how many pieces of information you are dragging in to your Storify. What I mean by frustrating is that if I want to change something or read over my work. I would have trouble since you have to use a slider to look over your page; this in turn includes having to load in the blocks which take their time.

 

The people who would best use Storify would be researchers who can use the search mechanism to find information around a recent topic. People who are into writing news stories would get a kick out of Storify since it is very adaptable to a news type of storytelling.  I had my issues with Storify but it did prove a useful tool in terms of content creation and information gathering. I will probably use it again in the future to make some more content and to search for recent items on a topic I am researching.

 

References

Widrich, L. (2012, May 12th). The Science of Storytelling: Why Telling a Story is the Most Powerful Way to Activate Our Brains. Lifehacker. Retrieved from http://lifehacker.com/5965703/the-science-of-storytelling-why-telling-a-story-is-the-most-powerful-way-to-activate-our-brains

Bruzzese, A. (2012, December 10th). Tips for Effective Storytelling at Work, The Fast Track – Intuit QuickBase Blog. Retrieved from  http://quickbase.intuit.com/blog/2012/12/10/tips-for-effective-storytelling-at-work/

Leave a Reply

